Blogging has opened up another world for us and it is expected that some people will try to put provisions on blogging.  Yet, how much is too much?

In a recent article from ABC NEWS, there seems to be some laws that could prevent us from blogging.  Even if we do not talk about our companies, some still want to make sure that we do not blog even in our private homes. 

However, is this fair?  From my point of view, I do not think so since I never mention my employer–why would I?  I use blogging to express my interests in other areas not related to my employer. 

Here are some of the reasons why I feel your boss SHOULD NOT ban you from blogging:

  • Increases our network
  • Keeps us engaged with the corporate world
  • Enhances our ability to criticaly analyze situations
  • Serves as a "therapy" for some since blogs are like diaries
  • Rebecca Blood has more to say about why you should blog

Although I do not agree with being banned from blogging, I do believe that a blogger should not disclose confidential information about their company and/or position with an employer.

But, how many of us do that?  In fact, I suspect that many of us blog about things we are passionate about and want to connect with others who share the same passion.  This is what makes a successful blogger.

Am I right?  Should bloggers be governed?